Yellow fields
Stretching to what seemed to be the ends of the Earth.
We used to walk past these,
Every single day,
Hand in hand,
Musing, dreaming, building sand castles.

We thought we were making concrete plans.
Well, I thought so.
I had never imagined I would be here,
Alone,
Wondering why I was here and you weren’t.

Those castles crumbled when you left.
When you said you didn’t love me anymore.

Yellow fields,
Stretching to what seems to be the ends of the Earth.
We used to look at these very fields,
And you’d say,
“As far as these fields stretch,
To the ends of the earth, 
So does my love for you.”

I look now.
I see fields, stretching to what seems to be the ends of the Earth.
The length that used to depict your love…

Now depicts the depth of my pain.

yellow-2

Yellow fields…

Daily Prompt – Yellow

6 thoughts on “Yellow Fields

  1. Yellow must depict a sad heart, for this is what seems to be the theme going through WordPress today, in regards to this particular prompt. Your words are beautiful and show a depth of emotion that is engaging and wonderful.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

