Him

I never for a second doubted your love
But often felt smothered by your affection
[Sighs]

Nostalgic dreams of our early years
When love’s flames were but mere sparks
And you were not more than a figment of my imagination

Then did I love you tenderly
Then did I love you dearly

How heavens descended when first we met
Yet love’s sweet blossoms were stifled at birth
We reached for the sky, but landed on earth
Cause reality is four walls with no doors
Reality is four days and no calls

Truth is the cloth on the mirror left me blind to myself
And the strings of fate made me lie to myself
That change would your flaws refine
Cause to be perfect is a crime

In time…
I hoped…
And I dreamed…
I longed…
But it seemed…
Like ridding the leopard
Of its spots
For you my darling had your blots

I gave you my dreams and paid with my freedom
You tweaked them to fit in your “grander” vision
For you were controlling, dead set in your ways
As I lay passive counting the days
As I lay passive counting the days

Distance put end to our pretense
And hate was never my defense
I leave you those eight words plastered above

Purchase this image at http://www.stocksy.com/136839

I never for a second doubted your love.

Eight Words- Part I

One thought on “Eight Words – Part II

Leave a Reply

