Purple Box

As I was walking around the grocery shop today after class, I came across a middle aged man in the feminine hygiene aisle. I was going to go on minding my own business, but he looked awfully misplaced (yes, lost) and puzzled. So I walked up to him and said hello.

pads

He returned my warm smile and the conversation;

Me: Hello
Him: Oh, hello. How are you doing?
Me: I am well thank you. How are you, outside of the frustration written all over your face?
His features softened as he laughed and sighed.
Him: Well, my daughter asked me to get her one of these. I had no idea there were so many types and given how moody she gets around this time, I am worried I will buy the wrong kind and have to face a hurricane when I get home.
That made me laugh, as I made a mental note to never ask my Dad or brothers to get these without specifications.
Me: Well, I can help if you want. Did she ask you to buy a particular brand or type?
Him: She just said they are in a purple box with wings. This is purple box. But as you can see, there are no wings.
I couldn’t help but laugh at that. Then I explained that the pads had to have wings, not the box. Looking awfully embarrassed, he said,
Him: Well, you will have to forgive me. This is my first experience with these things.
Me: Oh, its fine, don’t sweat it. It takes some training.

We both laughed. I said goodbye and walked away, going on with my shopping. A few minutes later, he comes up to me,

Him: Excuse me, sorry. It’s me. Hi.
I smile back,
Me: Hello,
Him: I just have a question.
Me: Sure.
Him: What are the wings for?
I laughed! 
Me: Are you sure you want the details of how we use them?
He hesitated a little,
Him: On second thought… I don’t think I do
Me: Good decision!

That saved me from an awkward situation, where I would have had to explain wings to a complete stranger I had just met. I mean, I can’t even imagine how I would have explained that!

Daily Prompt – Purple

10 thoughts on “Purple Box

Leave a Reply

