Scars

“Scars are tattoos with better stories”

They plague my skin.

Never fading beauty, faithfully reminding me of the [un]pleasant misfortune; when life dealt me a bitter hand.

Gashes on my broken heart.

You said you could protect me. You couldn’t. I know now that you couldn’t have protected me if you didn’t know what I was afraid of.

Now these scars are a reminder of the day you left, taking my innocence with you.

These scars also remind me of everything I want to forget. Unconscious in denial, I am okay. I am scarred, but not broken. I am only hurt.

34 thoughts on “Scars

Leave a Reply

