Change

Change. How notorious thou art, Change.

I know I have no reason to fear change because I believe in a God who’s Words have creative power (And God said, “Let there be light,” and there was light. – Genesis 1:3). But I guess it’s normal. I am only human, after all.

I am in my final year of my degree, and in as much as I am excited about closing this chapter of my life, I am fearful of the unknown that is set to come after this. I wish I had plans and back up plans, and back up plans for the back up plans, so I feel like there is some order in my life, as opposed to just swaying in the wind.

Much like watching the sunset, you’re glad the day is over. But instead of anticipating the struggles the next day holds, you just sit there and enjoy the view.

FB_IMG_1433993442203

But if life has taught me anything, is whatever plans we set for ourselves, if they are not what God wants for you, they will fail. Period.

I learnt that the hard way!! When I finished high school, I had my acceptance letters and my results were good. I was going to study in the same university as my boyfriend. We had plans; graduate, get hitched, babies and the whole 9 yards. I got accepted. BUT no funding. Forced gap year. God showed His hand. He had greater plans for me, and that boy was in none of those plans.

Three and a half years later, here I am, finishing my degree, with no plans and no back up plans with back up plans. And just as fear sweeps in, I recall the words of Ellen G. White in her book, Life Sketches, “We have nothing to fear for the future, except as we shall forget the way the Lord has led us, and His teaching in our past history.”

“For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind.” – 1 Timothy 1:7

I hope these words help to encourage anyone who is going through a season of change, or anything that is causing you to fear. Tuck these words away in your heart. I hope they give you strength just when you need it.

Have a blessed Sabbath and pleasant weekend (whichever applies to you) ! 🙂

13 thoughts on “Change

Leave a Reply

